The 64th National Film Awards winners

The much-awaited winners’ list of the 64th National Film Awards was announced this morning.

Over 300 films vied for the honours this year. Filmmaker Priyadarshan was the chairperson of the jury in feature films category, while nationally acclaimed cinematographer and writer Raju Misra was the chairperson in non-feature category, chairperson for the writing jury was Ms. Bhawana Somaaya.

Akshay Kumar won his first National Film Award for his role in Rustom, a courtroom drama inspired by the 1959 Nanavati case, while Sonam Kapoor’s Neerja won the Best Hindi Film and Sonam got a Special Mention. The movie is based on air-hostess Neerja Bhanot, who displayed utmost courage to deal with armed terrorists and sacrificed her life to save others. The Best Feature Film award went to Marathi film Kasaav and Best Director to Rajesh Mapuskar for his Marathi film Ventilator, produced by Priyanka Chopra. The jury chose Amitabh Bachchan-starrer Pink, a female-centric courtroom drama, as the best film on social issues. Surabhi C M was named as the best actress for her role in Malayalam film Minnaminungu—The Firefly. Adil Hussain (for Mukti Bhawan) and the films Mukti Bhawan and Kadvi Hawa received special mentions.

Here’s the list of the awards this year:

Most Film Friendly State Uttar Pradesh
Best Film Critic G Dhananjayan
Best Book on Cinema Lata Sur Gatha

Swarna Kamal

Best Feature Film: Kasav (Marathi)
Best Debut Film of a Director: Khalifa (Bengali)
Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Sathamanam Bhavati (Telugu)
Best Children’s Film: Dhanak (Hindi)
Best Direction: Rajesh Mapuskar For Ventilator

Rajat Kamal

Best Actor: Akshay Kumar For Rustom
Best Actress: Surabhi Lakshmi For Minnaminunge
Best Supporting Actor: Manoj Joshi For Dashkriya
Best Supporting Actress: Zaira Wasim For Dangal
Best Child Artist: Manohara For Railway Children
Best Male Playback Singer: Sundara Iyer For Joker
Best Female Playback Singer: Emaan Chakraborty For Praktan
Best Cinematography: Tirru Best Screenplay (Original): Syam Pushkaran For Maheshinte Prathikaaram
Best Screenplay (Adapted): Sanjay Krishnaji Patel For Dashakriya

Special Jury Award (Non-Feature Film): Cinema Travellers
Best Investigative Film: Placebo
Best Film on Environment: The Tiger Who Crossed The Line
Best Educational Film: The Water falls
Best Film on Social Issues: Pink
Best Animation: Hum Chitra Banate Hain
Best Short fiction: Aaba
Best Editing: Rameshwar S. Bhagat For Ventilator
Best Art Direction: 24
Best Costume Design: Sachin
Best Music goes to Leeches
Best Music Direction (Songs): Bapu Padmanabha/Bapu Flute Allama
Best Lyrics: Vairamuthu For Dharma Durai song Vantha Entha Pakkam
Best Special Effects: Shivaay

Regional Awards

Best Bengali Film: Bisarjan
Best Gujarati Film: Wrong Side Raju
Best Hindi Film: Neerja
Best Kannada Film: Reservation
Best Malayalam Film:Maheshinte Prathikaaram
Best Marathi Film: Dashakriya
Best Tamil Film: Joker
Best Telugu Film: Pelli Choopulu

Leave a Reply



Sorry, that page does not exist.